weatherlinguist

Job titles

Sometimes I find it hard to explain to people (or future employers) what kind of work I do, as I explained in one of my previous posts in other blog. It involves working with weather data in some capacity, generating, processing or piping the data somewhere. I have used titles like computational physicist and software developer or geospatial analyst and mathematical modeller or the more generic scientific software developer.

I subscribed to a the Met Jobs email list at the University of Reading many years ago, and I've come across a wide variety of different job titles through the years, slight variations of the same thing involving the key words "weather" and "meteorology". This has given me some inspiration on other ways to describe my professional background. I am listing below a list of job titles that match my skill set (at least in my personal opinion!).

Trying to come out with a completely different title I thought weather linguist had a more creative ring to it, so I named this blog after it!